During our custom Sharepoint solution implementation for large Bank in APAC region we were setting up separate environments for UAT and production. We were planning to setup temporary user accounts  for the UAT environment when the client came up with an interesting question

 

Can the CALs used by the temporary accounts be reused after deleting the accounts?

 

After rummaging through Microsoft Licensing literature we found out that User CALs can be reassigned. Here is the exact terms:

 

You may:

  • Permanently reassign your device CAL from one device to another, or your user CAL from one user to another, or
  • Temporarily reassign your device CAL to a loaner device while the first device is out of service, or your user CAL to a temporary worker while the user is absent.